Council II – Committee Summary Report

Date of Council Report: March 30, 2009

Submitted By: Aggie Hale, Council II Chair

Doug Campbell, Council II Vice-Chair

Committee Charges:

See individual committee reports under separate cover.

Committees Assigned to Council II:

1. **Program Standards Committee:**

Chair – Liza Frias (Industry Retail) Vice Chair – Ron Klein (Regulatory State)

Certification of Food Safety Regulation Professionals a) **Sub-Committee – Workgroup 1**

Co-Chair – Susan Kendrick (Regulatory State) Co-Chair – John Marcello (Regulatory Federal)

b) **Interdisciplinary Food Borne Illness Training Programs**

Sub-Committee – Workgroup 2

Chair – Michele Samarya – Tim (Regulatory Local) Vice-Chair Elizabeth Budgen (Industry Other)

2. **Inspection Scoring Form Committee**

Co-Chair – Chuck Catlin (Industry Food Service) Co-Chair – Liz Pozzebon (Regulatory Local)

Food Contact Utensil Barrier Usage Committee 3.

Co-Chair – Stephen Posey (Industry Food Service) Co-Chair – Dr. Julie Albrecht (Academia)

4. **Electronic Reporting Committee**

Co-Chair – Chirag Bhatt (Industry Other)

Co-Chair – Kimberly Stryker (Regulatory State)

5. **National Voluntary Assessment Information System Committee**

Co-Chair – Ric Mathis (Regulatory State) Co-Chair- LeAnn Chuboff (Industry)

6. Food Manager Training, Testing and Certification Committee

Chair – Joyce Jensen (Regulatory Local) Vice Chair – Jeff Hawley (Industry Retail)

Progress Report/Committee Activities:

See individual committee reports under separate cover.

Requested Actions for all Council II Committees:

Certification of Food Safety Regulation Professionals Sub-Committee – Workgroup 1:

The work group is requesting that the Executive Board charge the CFP Allergen Committee with the responsibility for reviewing the content of the Allergen Management Course that is currently under development within FDA's Division of Human Resource Development. The CFP CFSRP Work Group thinks that the appropriate expertise for reviewing the content of this course lies within the CFP Allergen Committee rather than the CFSRP work group. Once the review of this course is complete, the CFP CFSRP work group is prepared to renew its deliberation as to how its fits in with the Program Standard 2 - Trained Regulatory Staff curriculum. (See committee report page 2 and 3).

Food Manager Training, Testing and Certification Committee:

Committee Chair is asking for the approval of the following new members to the Committee:

Ed Zepeda, Prometric, as one of the vacant Certification Provider member positions.

Laurie Williams, FDA, replacing Veronica Moore as a Federal Regulatory member.

Kristina Barlow, USDA, as an additional alternate to the Federal Regulatory members.

These three names and their contact information have been added onto the roster as submitted pending CFP Executive Board approval.